Home > Our Services > Your Council > Council news

Junior School Warden Competition 2018

Junior School Warden Competition 2018


The Junior School Warden Scheme has been operating in Ireland since 1969 and currently operates in four schools in Westmeath- St Etchen’s Kinnegad, St Peter’s Athlone, Coralstown NS and St Ernan’s Delvin.

A regional competition, sponsored by the local authorities and the Roads Safety Authority, is held each year with teams from each school participating. 

This year the competition was held on June 8th  in Kinnegad hosted by Westmeath County Council and  St Etchens National School. 3 teams-St Etchen’s Kinnegad, Coralstown NS and St Ernan’s Delvin- represented Westmeath with a further five schools representing Longford and Roscommon.

Teams were of a very high standard with 1st place in the 2018 competition being awarded to Newtownforbes NS and St Etchen’s Kinnegad finishing runners up and Loughlynn NS co Roscommon in third place.

Trophies were presented to the winning teams with a medal issued to remaining teams competing on the day in recognition of their achievement in representing their county at the finals.


Presenting the awards Cathaoirleach of Westmeath County Council, Cllr John Shaw, thanked the teachers and Gardai for their support and encouragement to the pupils and in particular host school St Etchens NS, their Principal, Mr. Matt Melvin, and  Mrs. Colette Boardman, Deputy Principal, who is also the co-ordinator for the Junior School Warden scheme in St Etchens.  He also thanked the Road Safety Authority, Longford County Council and Roscommon County Council for their co-operation in ensuring the success of this competition. He praised the high level of skill demonstrated at the competition stating that these pupils are playing an important role in the raising of awareness in respect to road safety as we work to reduce the number of fatalities and accidents on our roads.


List of participating schools 2018 finals:


Westmeath: (Road Safety Officer: Colm Smith)


St Etchens Kinnegad


Coralstown Kinnegad


St Ernans Delvin


St Peters Athlone-unable to attend


Longford (Road Safety Officer: Ann Marie McKeon)


St Marys National School Drumlish, Co. Longford


Scoil Mhuire National School, Newtownforbes, Co Longford


Roscommon: (Road Safety Officer: Michelle Cox)


Scoil na nAingeal Naofa, Boyle

St. Paul’s N.S., Castlerea

Scoil Mhuire Lourdes N.S., Loughglynn







Content Last Updated/Reviewed: 20/06/2018