Home > Our Services > Your Council > Councillors and committees > Councillors


The representative structure of the Council consists of 20 democratically elected members from the Municipal Districts of Athlone-Moate and Mullingar-Kinnegad who form Westmeath County Council. The role of the elected council is to determine strategic policy and to represent the general view of the citizens who elected them. The elected members exercise their authority by way of reserved functions, and do so in public session at each of the Council meetings.

The Cathaoirleach and Leas-Chathaoirleach of the Council are elected at the annual general meeting which takes place in June.  

At the Annual Meeting, held on 19 June 2023, Cllr. Liam McDaniel was elected as Cathaoirleach and Cllr. Louise Heavin was elected as Leas-Chathaoirleach.