Home > Our Services > Community Development > Local Community Development Committee (LCDC)

Local Community Development Committee (LCDC)

‌The report on local government - Putting People First – An Action Programme for Effective Local Government – Oct 2012, - envisaged a range of reforms including an enhanced role for local government in community development.  This enhanced role for the Council in community development was provided for in the Local Government Reform Act 2014 which was enacted on 1st June 2014 and included for the establishment of Local Community Development Committees. Regulations and Guidance have also being issued by the DECLG in respect of these LCDC’s.  The Westmeath LCDC was formally established on 30th June 2014.

Membership of LCDC

The membership of the LCDC and the mechanism for selecting these members is prescribed in the legislation and guidance.  This membership comprise a range of statutory and non-statutory socio-economic partners drawn from the Councils administrative area.  The LCDC membership is constituted so as to ensure an appropriate representational balance between public and private interests, while also facilitating an appropriate mix across the broad range of actors across the county. 

Westmeath LCDC has 17 members (8 statutory members and 9 non-statutory members), current membership details for 2020 are outlined below:  

Cllr. Tom Farrell - Westmeath County Council Elected Member

Cllr. Vincent McCormack -Westmeath County Council Elected Member

Cllr. Bill Collintine - Westmeath County Council Elected Member

Mr. Pat Gallagher - Westmeath County Council Chief Executive (Vice-chairperson of Westmeath LCDC)

Ms. Christine Charlton - Head of Local Enterprise Office

Mr. Shaun Dorrian - Dept of Social Protection

Ms. Maria Fox - Education and Training Board

Ms. Valerie Hand - Health Service Executive

Mr. Seamus McDermott - PPN Community & Voluntary Rep.

Mr. Hugh Farrell - PPN Community & Voluntary Rep. (Chairperson of Westmeath LCDC)

Ms. Margaret Kiernan- PPN Social Inclusion Rep.

Mr. Joe McEvoy - PPN Environmental Rep.

Ms. Cathryn Whelehan - PPN Social Inclusion Rep.

Mr. Frank Murtagh - Westmeath Community Development Ltd.

Ms. Bernie McCarthy - Farming/ Agriculture

Mr. John Geoghegan - Business/ Employers

Ms. Hazel Gavigan - Trade Union


Contact for LCDC

The Chief Officer for Westmeath LCDC is:

Annette Barr Jordan, A/Senior Executive Officer , Community Development, Westmeath County Council, Aras an Chontae, Mullingar, Co. Westmeath.

Email: ajordan@westmeathcoco.ie

Tel: (044) 9332138


The LCDC is a committee of the Council and its primary role is to develop, co-ordinate and implement a coherent and integrated approach to local and community development.  The primary work of the LCDC to date has been in advancing the following initiatives:

Local Economic and Community Plan (LECP)

Rural Development Programme

For Further Information:


LCDC Meetings

In general the LCDC meets every 2 months and the business of the meeting is transacted in accordance with adopted Standing Orders:


Meeting Minutes Can be viewed Here